How Doctor Who broke my heart… (The Husbands of River Song)

Doctor Who’s Christmas Special truly touched my heart. Good warm fuzzy feels all around with a twist of heart break.

I feel that although the episode takes place during Christmas, it was not about it. Mostly it was Steven Moffat’s Christmas present to all the River and Doctor Who fans out there.
And I am ever so happy to receive it for Christmas.

There are two moments in that episode that broke me down in tears;

First was when River was trying to explain how the Doctor does not love her:

Flemming: My information is correct! You are the woman who loves the Doctor.

River: Oh yes I am. I’ve never denied it. But who ever said he loved me back?

“He’s The Doctor, he doesn’t go around falling in love with people.
And if you think he’s anything that’s small, or that ordinary, then you haven’t the first idea of what you’re dealing with.

Flemming: Your Majesty I assure you, she is the perfect bait. When this woman is in danger, the Doctor will always come.

River: Oh! You’re a moron!

Flemming: He’s probably already here.

River: No he isn’t of course he isn’t!

Flemming: Possibly on this ship.

River: Well go on, scan it then!
Go on! Why don’t you?

Doctor: Oh River….

River: Two hearts, stupid clothes, you cant miss him.

Doctor: RIVER…

River: Go on scan the whole parsec.
He’s not here.
God knows where he is right now but I promise you he’s doing whatever the hell he wants and not giving a damn about me!
And I’m just fine with that!
When you love the Doctor, its like
loving the stars themselves
you don’t expect the sunset to admire you back!
And if I happen to see myself in danger, let me tell you
the Doctor is not stupid enough or
sentimental enough
and he is certainly not in love enough to find himself
standing in here
with me.

(River turns and finally notices the Doctor)

Doctor (in a sweet whisper): Hello Sweetie.

riverknowsdr

ME: Breaking down in tears….to wash away the galaxy.

Second and this really makes me weep in buckets was when they were at the the singing towers of Darillium and he tries to explain (for me) his love of her and this was his tribute to her for their (alleged) last night:

Doctor: What do you think of the towers?

River: I love them…

Doctor: Then why are you ignoring them?

River: They’re ignoring me. But then you can’t expect a monolith to love you back?

Doctor: No, you cant.

Doctor: They’ve been there for millions of years
Through storms and floods
Wars and time
Nobody really understand where the music comes from
It’s probably got something to do with precise positions, the distance
between both towers
Even the locals aren’t sure
All will anyone will ever tell you is
When the wind stands fair
And the night is perfect
When you least expect it
But always…
When you need it the most…
There is a song

River: So… assuming tonight is all we have left?

Doctor: I didn’t say that

River: How long is a night in Darillium

Doctor: 24 years

River: I hate you!

Doctor: No you don’t.

THE SONG

All of this is my love for this wonderful series DOCTOR WHO and the ingeniously lovely dialogue that Steven Moffat wrote. So I leave you with this image because I truly believe that those last words to her was his way of saying she was wrong. That he loves her because like those two towers are like them they make a song,  like her name.

We will never know. Maybe he made them for her for that moment.

image

Posted on December 27, 2015, in rabble rabble and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

